Twitter & Music Educators

If you are not yet familiar with Twitter, I encourage you to check it out. Rather than try to explain it to you, I will quote Wikipedia:

Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that allows its users to send and read other users’ updates (otherwise known as tweets), which are text-based posts of up to 140 characters in length.

Updates are displayed on the user’s profile page and delivered to other users who have signed up to receive them. The sender can restrict delivery to those in his or her circle of friends (delivery to everyone being the default). Users can receive updates via the Twitter website, instant messaging, SMS, RSS, email or through an application such as Twitterrific or Facebook. For SMS, four gateway numbers are currently available: short codes for the United States, Canada, and India, as well as a United Kingdom number for international use. Several third parties offer posting and receiving updates via email.

I have really just recently started using Twitter, and have come to find that I have some colleagues in my own school district that are new users as well. What I would like to do, however, is figure out some way for music educators to start following each other on Twitter, so that we can share information, etc.

So, if you get a chance, please find me on Twitter, and we can start “following” each other. I am on Twitter as “dougbutchy.” Hope to hear from you soon!

3 thoughts on “Twitter & Music Educators

  1. Doug,

    I decided to take up your suggestion/challenge on a Group Twitter for Music Educators you wrote me about… I’m currently working on this in my “lab” as a beta. There were some bottlenecks with this at first, but I think I have a good first BETA. You can check out the information for this new group here:

    http://mustech.net/mustweets

    If I can “button it down” further in the next week or so, we’ll move forward with the idea/project. We’ll see!

    Joe

Leave a Reply

