Middle & High School Winter Concert Recordings

Below I have posted links to our recordings from the winter concert. The first 3 songs were performed by a combined middle and high school group. I have done this the last few years because of lack of instrumentation in the middle school. The glaring thing that needs work in these recordings to me is intonation. I welcome your input upon hearing these as well. I tried to use the wordpress embedded player for these files, but for whatever reason, it didn’t seem to want to play them from drop.io. Any thoughts on that would also be appreciated, as I would rather use the embedded player than the links. Thanks!

I should also mention some info about the bands that you are hearing. These groups meet 2 and 3 days a week only, due to our scheduling. The Middle School Band instrumentation is as follows:
2 Flutes
6 Clarinets
1 Trumpet
2 French Horns
2 Trombones
4 Percussion
1 Mallets

High School Band:
2 Flutes
4 Clarinets
1 Alto Saxophone
1 Tenor Saxophone
3 Trumpets
2 Trombones
1 Tuba
8 Percussion
2 Mallets

The 7th & 8th grade bands perform together, even though the meet during separate periods. Also, 9th & 10th grade students meet a separate period from 11th & 12th, but they also perform as one ensemble.

Song for the Winter Moon – MS & HS
Do You Hear…? – MS & HS
Oh Hanukkah – MS & HS
Fa Una Canzona – HS
Prelude on Greensleeves – HS

3 thoughts on “Middle & High School Winter Concert Recordings

  1. How do you feel about the fact that your groups meet in divided classes and then combine for performances? I had that situation while I taught high school. If I could do it over again, I would have either (a) worked more agressively to get the group to combine all the time, or (b) made each different class into a different ensemble. I know that may be either said than done, so I feel for you, bro!

  2. Thanks for posting your sound files! It is always nice to hear what other people are doing in other places. You and your students have accomplished a lot under difficult circumstances, congratulations to you all!!

  3. Doug,

    I am always so pleased to hear the progress year by year in your ensembles. I usually only get to hear your marching band at various performances, so this is a real treat for me. I was unfamiliar with the site where you posted them, so I am interested in checking that out as well. I am curious who did Song for the Winter Moon – it has a lot to offer an ensemble. I really enjoyed your groups performances of all the pieces. Keep up the great work!!!

Leave a Reply

