Why I Do What I Do

Every once in a while, we are reminded why we teach. Today is one of those days for me. I received a copy of a letter from one of my principals that a former student wrote to him on my behalf. It was written by a former student who graduated in 2007.

This student was a part of the band program when I starting teaching here in the fall of 2004. She was a sophmore at the time, and an outstanding flutist and student. Anyway, the letter is very nice and validated a lot of the things that I do and that I believe in as a teacher.

I believe that being the band director is so much more than just teaching music. I have always wanted to teach my students responsibility. I have always wanted my students to push themselves to be the absolute best they can be at whatever they do. I have always wanted to be there for my students to lend an ear, or offer advice when needed. The extrememly kind words from this student validated all of these things for me.

Sometimes, as teachers, we do not always see the fruits of our labors, especially if our goals for our students are “life lessons” or other things that are not immediately tangible in the classroom. Every once in a while, a student will let you know that your efforts are indeed paying off, and this is why we are reminded why we do what we do!

2 thoughts on “Why I Do What I Do

  1. Great! What an inspiring post… If only write their letters of gratitude to their music teachers more often, then we may be more motivated to teach them.

    Thanks for sharing this music teachers resource! Hope you continue writing your experiences and tips in teaching music. My best regards!

  2. This is so true! Many times we never know how something we said or an experience we offered our kids can impact a life. It is nice when—once in a while—we get a glimpse of this. It is a nice reminder of why we are directors.

Leave a Reply

